Home » Maddogs Celebrate Amazing Season

Maddogs Celebrate Amazing Season

by Jocelyn Ottenbreit

The Martensville Maddogs held their Awards Night on Tuesday, November 30 at the North Ridge Community Centre.

According to executive board member Devin Hind, the event was open to any friends or relatives that wanted to attend. Due to Covid concerns, no food or drinks were served. The awards were live streamed and both PeeWee and Bantam teams coaches gave speeches and presented awards to their players. “Special guest was Maddogs founder and former president Janine Hayward,” said Hind.

Both PeeWee and Bantam teams had an amazing season this year with the Bantams winning the City Championship and a completely undefeated season. The PeeWee team ended their season with the Kinsmen Bowl victory.

Hind stated that President Som Houmphanh and Vice President Grant Currie gave speeches emphasizing how great the Maddog program is and that it’s 100% volunteer operated. Because the program is becoming more popular every year, more players want to join which shows how amazing this program is.

With more players, more volunteers are needed to help coach, manage, and become board members. If anyone is able to help in any way, please contact martensvillemaddogs@gmail.com.

ABOVE PHOTO CAPTION: Maddog Bantam Award Winners

Bantam Awards

Cooper Ogden, Offensive Rookie of the Year
Chase Ogden, Defensive Rookie of the Year
Treagen Green-Edmonds, Defensive Player of the Year
Wyatt LaRoche, Offensive Player of the Year
Emilio Rodriguez, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman of the Year
Nick Cook, Most Outstanding Defensive Lineman of the Year
Kyren Houmphanh, Most Valuable Player of the Year
Cameron Kliewer, Most Outstanding Graduate of the Year
Aidan Low, Janine Hayward Team Dedication Award
Caton Harrison, Offensive Most Improved Player of the Year
Sabahat Mian, Defensive Most Improved Player of the Year

You may also like