Home » MHS Royals Celebrate First Season as a 12-Aside Team at Annual Awards Banquet

MHS Royals Celebrate First Season as a 12-Aside Team at Annual Awards Banquet

by Shanine Sealey

The Martensville High School (MHS) Royals Football team saw some big changes this year, as they entered their first year in 12-aside football, moving from a 9-aside league. At the beginning of the season, the team set some goals, which included to have at least a .500 record and secure a playoff birth, two goals they were able to accomplish.

The season was an exciting one; however, unfortunately ended with some team injuries. Despite this, both coaches and players looked at the season as a success and are excited to see what the future brings for the team, as many players will be returning for the 2024 season.

Players that will be graduating and not returning to the team include: Cale Robertson, Jared Festus, Carter Flynn, Thomas Shoemaker, James Fasooto, Gavin Gordon, Ezekiel Topping, Jackson Hull, Chase Hahn, Chase Schiebelbein, Cole Grona, Jaxon Peterson, Josh Hamilton, and Seth Osler.

A final wrap for the season took place on Wednesday, November 29th when the MHS Royals hosted their annual awards ceremony. Coaches took to the stage to present awards to players and talk about the season, with some getting emotional due to the strong bonds that were created through the team atmosphere.

Award winners were: Most Inspirational – Cale Robertson, Most Improved – James Fasooto, Offensive Rookie of the Year – Hunter Dumont, Defensive Rookie of the Year – D’Shawn Lewis, Offensive Player of the Year – Cam Kliewer, Defensive Player of the Year – Cale Robertson, Lineman of the Year – Wyley Loewen, Special Teams Player of the Year – Aidan Low, Most Dedicated Player – Cale Robertson, Most Valuable Player – Aidan Low and Cale Robertson. Academic Athlete Awards were presented to Grade 12 – Cale Robertson, Grade 11 – Aidan Low and Grade 10 – Hunter Dumont.

You may also like